Vlasis: A Deputy’s Cancer Claim and His Spouse’s Benefits Withstood Review

When cancer takes a public safety officer out of work, a compensation dispute can reach far beyond the diagnosis. The worker may need disability benefits after retirement, while the family later faces a separate dispute over death benefits. Each question needs its own evidence, even when all arise from the same illness.
In Vlasis v. County of Fresno, Nos. ADJ11941968, ADJ11941983 (WCAB May 9, 2024), the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board denied the employer’s request for reconsideration and adopted the trial judge’s report. The challenged findings included industrial brain cancer, disability benefits, the benefit rate, the surviving spouse’s dependency and penalties. Exposure testimony, the medical evaluator’s treatment of the studies, retirement-related activity and property records all mattered.
Exposure evidence established the basis for the cancer presumption
Steven Vlasis worked as a deputy sheriff. The county accepted several claimed physical conditions but disputed his brain cancer. Agreed Medical Evaluator Dr. Jonathan Green diagnosed glioblastoma multiforme and reviewed the exposure history and medical literature.
A coworker, Troy Paul, described working with Vlasis for about 20 years across vice, court services and patrol assignments. His testimony addressed exposures encountered in those duties, including firearms-range particles, gasoline fumes, vehicle exhaust and smoke. The exposure analysis in Vlasis credited that unrebutted testimony alongside the medical evidence identifying carcinogens.
The county argued that the worker had not supplied material safety data sheets for some substances. The adopted report explained that witnesses familiar with the work could supply exposure evidence. Dr. Green also explained his conclusions through the duties described and the literature he reviewed.
Labor Code section 3212.1 requires proof of covered service, exposure during that service to a recognized carcinogen, and cancer development or manifestation within the applicable period. The report found those requirements met. The current statute identifies covered peace officers in subdivision (a)(5) and continues to provide a disputable presumption once its requirements are established. Classification, service dates and actual exposure should be documented separately.
The employer needed a reasoned rebuttal in the admitted record
The central medical distinction was between uncertainty about the cause and proof that an occupational carcinogen was not reasonably linked to the cancer. Applying Faust v. City of San Diego, 68 Cal.Comp.Cases 1822, 1831 (WCAB en banc 2003), the adopted report required affirmative medical or scientific support for the employer’s rebuttal.
The presumption discussion in Vlasis explained that showing an absence of evidence establishing a link was insufficient. The employer needed to establish the primary cancer site and the absence of a reasonable link between the proven exposure and the disabling cancer.
The report examined a treating oncologist’s testimony and the competing studies. Dr. Green reviewed the material supplied to him and found it insufficient to exclude the occupational exposures to a medical probability. The report also criticized reliance on isolated passages rather than the studies’ conclusions and the evaluator’s explanation.
Other studies cited on reconsideration had not been introduced into the trial record or supplied to the medical expert. The opposing party had received no earlier opportunity to address them. The evidence discussion in Vlasis rejected using judicial notice to establish disputed scientific propositions in those circumstances.
The practical question is what the expert says the admitted research establishes and why. Preserve the complete study, the report discussing it and any deposition questions. A lawyer’s selected excerpt and a doctor’s reasoned interpretation are different kinds of support. This decision describes how the legal presumption operated on the evidence; it is not a medical conclusion about every person exposed to those substances.
Retirement raised both an entitlement question and a rate question
The county also disputed temporary disability after retirement and the use of section 4458.5 to calculate the rate. Those are separate inquiries: Whether disability benefits are owed, and how benefits that are owed should be calculated.
The adopted report acknowledged differing decisions about section 4458.5. The statute lists specified public-safety presumption provisions but does not expressly list the cancer provision, section 3212.1. The judge followed decisions reading section 4458.5 as incorporating the listed time provisions, rather than limiting the rate rule to the injuries expressly listed there. That choice was part of the reasoning the Board adopted.
For the rate calculation, the report used a June 26, 2019 legal injury date under section 5412, based on a report establishing disability and knowledge of the work connection. The rate analysis in Vlasis set average weekly earnings at $1,877.07, producing a weekly temporary disability rate of $1,251.38. Those were this case’s figures; a present claim requires its own legally supported date and rate calculation.
For entitlement after retirement, the report examined leaving a particular job versus leaving all work and the role of the industrial injury. It considered Vlasis’s rental-property activity in addressing the county’s argument that he had retired from the labor force. The county’s characterization of the rental income as merely passive did not prevail on this record.
The retirement discussion in Vlasis therefore needs to be read with the rate ruling. The special rate statute and the evidence supporting actual post-retirement disability entitlement performed different jobs. Bring work and activity records as well as retirement papers; the pension date alone cannot explain the entire claim.
The spouse’s earnings required their own proof
The surviving spouse, Lizanne Vlasis, had lived with and depended on her husband. The judge found that she met the statutory conclusive presumption of total dependency. Under the current section 3501(b), a spouse married to the worker at death qualifies for that presumption if the surviving spouse earned $30,000 or less during the preceding 12 months.
The county relied on a joint tax return showing a $166,978 gain from selling properties. The report examined whose property was sold and the spouse’s role. It credited testimony and documents showing that the properties were held in Steven’s name, that he was identified as purchaser and seller, and that Lizanne was identified as his representative under a power of attorney.
The dependency analysis in Vlasis declined to treat the sale proceeds as the spouse’s separate income merely because she helped prepare the property for sale after her husband became incapacitated. A jointly filed return did not resolve that factual question by itself.
For a family assembling dependency evidence, identify each income source, the person who earned or received it, the relevant 12-month period and the documents supporting that attribution. Ownership records and representative-capacity documents may explain an apparent conflict in a tax return. The actual facts and the statutory meaning of earnings require review together.
The penalty findings concerned two separate benefit rejections
The judge found unreasonable rejection of liability affecting disability benefits during Vlasis’s lifetime and a separate rejection affecting death benefits and burial expenses after his death. The county argued that the case involved only one denial and should produce only one penalty.
The penalty reasoning in Vlasis treated the lifetime and survivor-benefit rejections as legally distinct acts. It also rejected the county’s argument that section 5814’s time limit necessarily governed the separate section 5814.3 claim merely because both provisions concerned penalties. The report tied unreasonableness to the deficient rebuttal evidence and the unsupported reliance on material outside the admitted record. It found that the five-times calculations for both the lifetime and survivor benefits exceeded the statutory maximum.
The current section 5814.3 provides a penalty of five times benefits unreasonably delayed by an unreasonable rejection of liability for specified presumptive-injury claims, capped at $50,000. The Board determines reasonableness from the facts. A disputed or ultimately unsuccessful denial requires that separate assessment before a penalty can be established.
The Board left the awards in place
The formal order in Vlasis denied reconsideration. The accompanying opinion adopted the judge’s report, leaving the challenged findings and awards in place. The report’s separate explanations for exposure, rebuttal, rate, retirement, dependency and penalties show why one favorable finding could not replace the evidence needed for the others.
For a similar claim, organize service and exposure records, diagnostic and medical-legal reports, the studies actually reviewed, retirement and work-activity evidence, benefit notices and the family’s financial records. Identify the exact benefit and period in dispute. Keep the worker’s disability claim and any later death-benefit proceeding separately identifiable.
Our Hillmon analysis examines a different post-retirement record involving continued willingness to work. Our Murrieta analysis addresses the separate task of identifying the proper date for adult children’s dependency. In Vlasis, the spouse’s own earnings, representative role and supporting property documents were central to the dependency dispute.
Review the cancer, retirement and survivor-benefit evidence
Bring the service and exposure history, medical reports, retirement and work-activity records, benefit notices and dependency documents. We can review the evidence for the particular benefits and periods being disputed. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.