Murrieta: A Family’s Dependency Claim Required a Clear Cumulative-Injury Date

Documents and case folders on a law-office desk.

After a work-related death, gathering financial records can be painful and demanding. For a family claiming dependency benefits, those records need to answer a particular question: Who relied on the worker’s support at the time the law treats the injury as having occurred?

That date became decisive in Murrieta v. Ventura County Fire Department, No. ADJ12504069 (WCAB June 19, 2023). The Board set aside a decision denying dependency status to a firefighter’s two adult sons. It directed the judge to establish the cumulative-injury date first, then reassess their dependency using the facts at that time.

The family’s death-benefit case followed an earlier cancer award

Firefighter Rueben Murrieta died from industrial lung cancer on October 18, 2018. Shortly before his death, a stipulated award in his injury case granted 84 percent permanent disability and future medical care for lung cancer, based on a cumulative-injury period ending in October 2016.

In the later death-benefit proceeding, the parties stipulated that his widow, Irene, was a total dependent. The disputed claims concerned their adult sons, Anthony and Alejandro. The judge found that neither son was a total or partial dependent.

On reconsideration, the family challenged the assessment of their financial reliance and the period used to assess it. Their arguments involved testimony, earnings records, housing and other support. Before resolving those factual disputes, the Board found a more basic problem: The decision had not clearly determined the date that governed the inquiry.

The decision moved between different dates and financial periods

As the Murrieta panel explained, the judge’s findings appeared to refer both to a specific injury on the date of death and to the cumulative injury described in the earlier award. The opinion also shifted between financial periods when discussing the sons’ dependency.

For Alejandro, it considered October 2015 through October 2016, unspecified years before the cancer diagnosis, tax returns covering several years, and money wired after the worker’s death. For Anthony, it considered several overlapping ranges of years without a clear, consistent timeline.

The concern was the relationship between that evidence and the legally relevant date. A payment record may show that someone received support, but the decision still needs to explain how it establishes dependency at the time of injury.

Labor Code section 3502 directs the factual dependency inquiry to the circumstances at the time of injury. For a cumulative injury resulting in death, the Board applied Department of Highway Patrol v. Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (Sills), 33 Cal.App.4th 1828, 1836 (1995): The relevant injury date is determined under Labor Code section 5412.

Section 5412 brings together two elements. The worker must have suffered disability from the condition and known, or reasonably been expected to know, that employment caused it. The Murrieta panel explained that disability for this purpose requires compensable temporary or permanent disability.

Knowledge requires its own examination. The panel explained that medical advice ordinarily supplies the connection, while the nature of the condition and the worker’s training and qualifications may support an inference that the worker should have recognized it.

For this family, the judge therefore needed findings supported by medical and other evidence addressing those elements. The end of an exposure period, a treatment date and the date of death describe different events; the section 5412 inquiry determines which date governs the dependency question.

The Board required a fresh determination of both the date and dependency

The Board rescinded the September 2021 findings in Murrieta and returned the matter for further proceedings. It directed the judge to establish the cumulative-injury date and then reconsider the adult sons’ dependency using the facts as they existed at that time.

Its Murrieta opinion also addressed the earlier stipulated injury period. The judge could determine a different cumulative-injury date if substantial evidence supported it. The earlier stipulation was part of the record to examine in carrying out that task.

The result was another opportunity to present and assess the claims on the proper basis. The sons’ entitlement and the final injury date remained for determination after remand.

Build the medical chronology and support history together

For a cumulative-disease death claim, collect the earlier claim and award, medical reports identifying disability, and records of when the worker learned of the work connection. Ask counsel to identify the proposed section 5412 date and the evidence supporting it.

Then organize each claimed dependent’s support evidence around that date. Identify the source and purpose of payments, housing support, the person’s other income and the expenses the worker helped meet. Explain how records from a longer period relate to the circumstances at the relevant time.

This approach keeps the family’s financial story connected to the legal question. In Murrieta, conflicting date references prevented a sound dependency determination. Resolving the date was the necessary first step toward fairly assessing the sons’ actual reliance on their father.

Our Stanley analysis examines a different survivor-benefit issue: A spouse’s CalPERS election and dependent children’s needs. For a disputed dependency claim, see our California workers’ compensation practice.

Review the injury date and family support record

If a death-benefit denial turns on when your family member depended on the worker, bring the injury and death records, earlier awards and support documents. We can examine the proposed injury date and whether the financial evidence has been assessed against the right period. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.