Hillmon: Injury-Driven Retirement Did Not End Temporary Disability

Retirement papers did not settle why this carpenter stopped earning wages. In Hillmon v. Stockton Unified School District, No. ADJ18364465 (WCAB Jan. 16, 2026), the record showed an injured worker who asked for light duty, received none, and retired while his compensation claim was denied. The Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board left in place temporary disability benefits for a defined period after retirement. The worker’s medical restrictions and continued willingness to work explained the result.
Chair Katherine A. Zalewski and Commissioners Joseph V. Capurro and Paul F. Kelly denied reconsideration in this WCAB panel decision. The panel applied California retirement and wage-loss authorities to Hillmon’s credited testimony and medical record. The official decision and adopted trial judge’s report should be read together: The panel’s order adopts the report and adds its own explanation.
The claim was denied while the worker was running out of income
Benjamin Hillmon injured his lumbar spine while working as a carpenter on July 14, 2023. The district denied the claim that October. By late December, his available income was running out. He testified that he asked supervisors twice for light-duty work and was told none was available. While the claim was delayed, he used sick and vacation leave and a short-term disability policy. As that income ran out, he faced the 39-month reemployment list he remembered from an earlier hip injury. He retired for income. A June 12, 2024 letter accepted the claim but withheld temporary disability pending confirmation of dates. Hillmon, pages 3–4 and adopted report, pages 6–9.
The claim’s later acceptance did not answer the wage-loss question by itself. The district argued that retirement showed Hillmon had removed himself from the labor market and had not proved a continuing willingness to work. That made his reasons for retiring—and what he intended to do after recovering—central to the dispute.
The worker’s testimony connected retirement to the injury
Hillmon testified that he would have performed light duty if it had been offered. He also said that he would not have retired had he received temporary disability payments, and would have tried to return to work after recovering. His requests for modified work supported that account. The district offered no testimony from a supervisor or coworker showing that he could have kept working or retired for an unrelated reason. The panel emphasized that his account was unrebutted. Pages 3–4, 8–9.
Those facts distinguished retirement from a decision to stop all work regardless of the injury. The report compared the authorities the district relied on, including a worker who expressed no intention of working again and another who left an actual modified-duty position for reasons different from the physical restrictions at issue. The panel’s account says he had been on modified duty and was then told he could not work at all, while the adopted report describes no modified work after the injury. Those descriptions are not fully reconciled in the decision. The report specifically found no modified or alternative work offered after December 29, 2023. Its distinction was that Hillmon had not voluntarily abandoned an available assignment as the comparator had. Pages 4, 6–9.
The report drew its framework from the published Court of Appeal decision Gonzales v. Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (1998) 68 Cal.App.4th 843, 850 [63 Cal.Comp.Cases 1477]: Was the worker retiring from all work or only the particular job, and did the industrial injury cause that choice or interfere with plans to work elsewhere? The testimony and work requests answered those questions on this record. Pages 6–7.
The adopted report applied a preponderance-of-the-evidence burden to the worker’s intent to pursue work interrupted by the injury. Hillmon’s specific account, his requests for work and the absence of contrary employment testimony supplied that proof. The comparison is between the retirement decision and the cause of the claimed wage loss. Pages 7–8.
Medical evidence supported the particular period awarded
The record also contained medical support for temporary total disability. A panel qualified medical evaluator reported that Hillmon had been temporarily totally disabled from the injury date. The medical record supported disability through his permanent-and-stationary date of April 22, 2025. The employer had paid salary continuation of $981.87 a week through December 29, 2023. The report began with the wage-loss requirement: Wages equal to or above the temporary-disability amount leave no compensable wage loss for that period. It cited Herrera and the en banc Cone v. Zacks Pasta Kitchen (1988) 53 Cal.Comp.Cases 251 decision for that premise. Report pages 6–7. The award then covered January 1, 2024 through April 22, 2025; the medical disability had begun with the July 2023 injury. Pages 1, 4 and 6–7.
The end date mattered. The district relied in part on Acosta, which concerned an ongoing award. The report contrasted that worker’s testimony about not planning to apply for work and avoiding stressful activity for a year with Hillmon’s unrebutted account of willingness to work. Here, Hillmon sought a finite period supported by medical evidence and testimony about his work intentions. The finite medical period and the accepted work-intent evidence supported this award. Pages 4 and 8.
The employer’s inability to provide work did not resolve its payment obligation
The district also argued that retirement prevented it from offering modified work after accepting the claim. The adopted report rejected that explanation as a reason to deny this worker’s temporary disability. It looked to whether suitable work was actually available to Hillmon, rather than treating an operational inability to provide it as an answer to an otherwise supported wage-loss claim. Pages 9–11.
The report explained its reasoning through a distinction among benefits. It described Dennis as a supplemental-job-displacement-voucher decision, then pointed to later temporary-disability decisions applying the same inability-to-offer-work reasoning during COVID-19 shutdowns. Those comparisons supported looking at the injured worker’s access to suitable work rather than making the employer’s operational inability a complete defense. Pages 9–11.
The report’s conclusion was direct. Once Hillmon established that retirement did not bar his claim, the employer had to make a bona fide offer of modified or alternative work to avoid temporary-disability liability for the supported period of restrictions before permanent-and-stationary status. It made none. The report used Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Companies v. WCAB (2021) 86 Cal.Comp.Cases 997 and Corona v. Cal. Walls, Inc. (2020) 85 Cal.Comp.Cases 1043 to focus on the worker’s access to suitable work, rather than the employer’s ability to provide it. The report tied that approach to Labor Code section 3202’s direction to view the Act from the injured worker’s standpoint. Pages 10–11.
What the decision helps a reader evaluate
A post-retirement dispute should be organized around the period claimed. Put the medical restrictions beside the employer’s actual response, then compare the denial, income history and retirement decision. A request for light duty can help explain continued willingness to work; the request alone does not establish the medical period or amount of benefits.
- Keep the retirement application and communications explaining the decision as they actually existed.
- Identify each modified-work request, response and offer, with the duties and restrictions involved.
- Match the claimed weeks to treating reports, medical-legal findings and any date of medical stability.
- Keep the pension and other payment records alongside the wage-loss calculation so counsel can assess the benefits actually received.
For help evaluating a post-retirement compensation dispute, bring the retirement papers, denial and acceptance notices, work-status reports, payment history and light-duty communications. Together, those records can show whether the disputed wage loss resembles the supported period in Hillmon.
Retired while your injury claim was denied?
We can compare the retirement decision, light-duty requests and medical reports with the weeks of temporary disability being disputed. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.