Vaccaro: A Need to Lie Down Most of the Day Supported Total Disability

Documents and case folders on a law-office desk.

If your doctor says you can work only briefly before resting, a disability percentage may not explain whether you can sustain a job. The medical report needs to describe the actual limits. A vocational assessment then needs to explain what those limits mean for work and rehabilitation.

That connection supported the award in Vaccaro v. Elks Lodge No. 1968, No. ADJ13465387 (WCAB Aug. 1, 2025). The Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board denied the employer’s petition for reconsideration and left a 100 percent permanent-disability award in place. The decisive evidence included the doctor’s requirement that the worker lie down most of the day and the consequences identified in both sides’ vocational reports.

The doctor described limitations beyond a percentage

Christina Vaccaro worked as a bartender and sustained an admitted work injury in June 2018. The parties selected John Lavorgna, M.D., as their agreed medical evaluator. His opinions were the sole medical evidence they submitted, and he attributed the rated orthopedic impairments entirely to the work injury.

The medical-rating history in Vaccaro included neck, back, left-shoulder and left-hip impairment. The doctor later reduced the shoulder impairment from 16 to 13 percent whole-person impairment. His work restrictions addressed a different concern: How long Vaccaro could remain working, what she could lift and when she needed to rest.

The restrictions discussed in Vaccaro initially allowed sedentary work for only an hour at a time, required a cane whenever she was up and required lying down once or twice daily. The doctor clarified a lifting, pushing, pulling and carrying limit of two or three pounds. His later report described needing assistance to get up and sit down, keeping the left arm close to the body and lying down most of the day.

Those were physician-supplied restrictions in the evidentiary record. They gave the vocational experts specific limitations to evaluate, rather than leaving them to infer work capacity from a diagnosis or impairment percentage.

The chart calculation and vocational proof answered different questions

The Board first examined the scheduled rating. After the medical impairment figures were adjusted, the neck and back each rated 15 percent permanent disability, the left shoulder 24 percent and the left hip 36 percent. The rating-method discussion in Vaccaro explained that adding those figures would produce 90 percent, while the Combined Values Chart produced 64 percent.

The doctor had recommended addition because the impairments acted together. The panel found that explanation insufficiently specific under Vigil v. County of Kern, 89 Cal.Comp.Cases 686 (WCAB en banc 2024). The proposed addition therefore did not supply the basis for the total-disability award.

The vocational evidence supplied a separate analysis of the medical restrictions and their effect on earning capacity. The panel concluded that the choice between the two rating calculations did not determine the result because that evidence supported total disability. The 100 percent award rested on the work limitations and their vocational consequences, rather than arithmetic that turned the impairment figures into 100 percent.

For a disputed rating, keep those questions separate. The medical explanation for a rating method and the evidence about rehabilitation or access to employment need to support their respective conclusions. A larger sum alone does not explain the worker’s vocational position.

The defense expert’s condition mattered

Vaccaro’s vocational expert, Scott Simon, concluded that she could not return to employment or benefit from rehabilitation. The employer challenged his analysis. But the defense expert, Evan Oemcke, also addressed what would happen if her need to lie down exceeded employers’ tolerance for time off task.

The adopted judge’s report in Vaccaro explained the condition in Oemcke’s opinion. He identified possible jobs if the lie-down requirement remained within acceptable employer allowances. If it exceeded those allowances, however, he found no labor-market access and no benefit from rehabilitation. He treated lying down most of the day as more than half the time, beyond the allowances he described.

The panel’s own analysis emphasized that no evidence supported the suggestion that an employer would allow Vaccaro to lie down most of the day. It found that the severe medical restrictions and the vocational reporting supported the existing award.

A conditional opinion needs to be read through to its condition. A list of possible sedentary jobs may depend on a tolerance the medical report does not establish. In this case, the doctor’s actual restriction was central to determining which part of the defense expert’s analysis applied.

The Board evaluated the reports together

The adopted report also addressed the different medical records the experts had reviewed. Simon used the earlier restrictions and had not reviewed the later report increasing them. The judge considered that omission alongside the stronger later restrictions and Oemcke’s review of the complete medical reporting. The reasoning depended on how the records fit together.

The employer also criticized Simon’s testing and his analysis of transferable skills. The response to the testing objection in Vaccaro noted similar reading and spelling results from the two vocational experts. On the proposed clerical jobs, the judge again examined the defense expert’s condition concerning permissible time off task. That condition linked the proposed work back to the medical restriction.

The result followed the complete evidentiary picture: Established medical limitations, the worker’s vocational report and the defense report’s own treatment of those limitations. Reviewing one criticism in isolation would miss why the judge and panel found the total-disability conclusion supported.

The denial left the total-disability award in place

The Board identified the sole issue raised in the employer’s petition as whether the medical and vocational reporting supported 100 percent permanent disability. It addressed that issue and denied reconsideration in Vaccaro, leaving the April 2025 award in place.

The source distinguishes the chart-rating problem from the reason the award survived. The doctor’s general explanation for adding impairments was inadequate, yet the specific work restrictions and vocational evidence supported total disability. An evidence review must identify the actual basis for the award before deciding whether a criticism defeats it.

Read the assumptions behind each vocational conclusion

Compare the medical report’s exact wording with the restrictions each vocational expert used. Note the report date, later clarifications, duration of activity, lifting limit, assistance and need for rest. Those details can change the meaning of a conclusion about sedentary work.

Next, identify any condition attached to an opinion about employment or rehabilitation. Ask which evidence supports that condition and whether the report addresses the physician’s final restrictions. Preserve both sides’ complete reports for counsel’s review rather than relying on a favorable sentence or a list of job titles.

Our Vernon analysis concerns vocational conclusions lacking an adequate medical foundation. Vaccaro illustrates a different record in which the physician supplied concrete restrictions and both experts’ reporting supported the total-disability result.

Review the restrictions and assumptions behind a disability opinion

Bring the complete medical and vocational reports, later restriction clarifications, rating calculations and award. We can compare the medical limits each expert used and the conditions behind an opinion about employment or rehabilitation. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.