Vernon: An SSDI Award and a Vocational Opinion Still Needed an Industrial Medical Foundation

After a serious work injury, an SSDI award may feel like recognition of how much your ability to work has changed. It can be confusing to learn that your workers’ compensation case still needs more proof of total disability. The medical findings, vocational analysis and reason the disability is work-related each matter.
Vernon v. Kaweah Delta Health Care District, No. ADJ9375862 (WCAB May 23, 2024) shows how those questions can separate. The Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board found the worker’s vocational reporting inadequate, agreed with excluding a pain-related sleep impairment from the rating increase, and required clarification of a reimbursement claim. Its final order rescinded the existing award and returned the case for further proceedings.
An SSDI award answered a different question
Belinda Vernon worked as an HR analyst and educator. A December 2013 fall injured her right knee, followed by three surgeries, chronic pain, insomnia and gastrointestinal problems. The judge awarded 56 percent permanent partial disability. Vernon sought permanent total disability, relying in part on her SSDI award.
The SSDI analysis in Vernon focused on causation. The panel explained that a Social Security disability determination does not decide whether the disability is industrial for California workers’ compensation purposes. It therefore did not bind the judge on that question.
The Board applied Ogilvie v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd., 197 Cal.App.4th 1262, 1277 (2011), to the worker’s effort to rebut the scheduled rating. That approach required proof that the industrial injury prevented rehabilitation and left her unable to compete in the open labor market. The vocational report needed to explain that connection.
The panel gave the SSDI award a practical role: It could indicate that permanent total disability should be investigated. It did not itself establish that total disability had an industrial basis. For a worker with both proceedings, compare what each decision actually decided and the evidence on which it relied.
The vocational opinion needed medical restrictions behind it
The medical findings in Vernon included an orthopedic agreed evaluator’s 30 percent whole-person impairment, a sedentary-work restriction and an opinion that the disability was entirely industrial. An internist assigned separate impairment percentages for digestive problems and sleep disturbance but gave no work restrictions for those impairments. An impairment percentage and a restriction on particular work activities serve different purposes.
Vernon’s vocational expert concluded that pain and fatigue would prevent training and employment. His reporting referred to an examination by the treating physician that had not been offered into evidence. He also conducted his own functional assessment based on what Vernon reported she could do. The Board questioned whether his conclusions rested on established medical restrictions or his own medical assumptions.
The vocational-report discussion in Vernon identified further gaps. The reporting did not adequately explain why Vernon could not find work. It also left unexplained vocational testing that placed her intellectual capacity in the fourth percentile despite her graduate-level education. The report needed to explain how that test result fit the educational history and the conclusions drawn from it.
Applying the medical and vocational roles discussed in Nunes v. State of California, Department of Motor Vehicles, 88 Cal.Comp.Cases 741 (WCAB en banc 2023), the panel required the vocational evaluator to use medical evidence supplied by doctors. If the needed medical evidence was missing, the evaluator should identify the gap so the parties could obtain it. A vocational conclusion could not supply a new medical restriction.
The medical-foundation explanation in Vernon is useful when reading your own reports. Locate the physician’s restriction on sitting, standing, attendance or another activity before accepting a vocational assumption about it. Then check how the expert connects that restriction to rehabilitation and available work. The source of the limitation and the vocational consequence both need an explanation.
Pain-related insomnia was excluded from the rating increase
Vernon argued that her sleep disorder was a direct injury rather than a consequence of the knee injury. The sleep-impairment ruling in Vernon addressed that actual distinction. The medical evidence linked the sleep problem to pain from the orthopedic injury. The panel found no established direct sleep injury and agreed with excluding the sleep impairment from the rating increase.
Labor Code section 4660.1(c)(1) limits increased impairment ratings for sleep dysfunction arising from a compensable physical injury. The same provision preserves the ability to obtain treatment for a sleep condition that is a consequence of the industrial injury. The rating question and the need for treatment are separate.
For a disputed sleep rating, review how the physician explains the cause. In Vernon’s record, difficulty sleeping was attributed to continuing knee pain and difficulty finding a comfortable position. The cause described in the medical report supplied the basis for the panel’s ruling.
The spouse’s lost-wage request required a clear ruling
A separate part of the case concerned expenses associated with medical appointments. Vernon’s exhibit included an $8,000 demand for wages her husband allegedly lost while transporting and caring for her. A letter referred to enclosed check stubs, but the Board found none in the exhibit.
The reimbursement analysis in Vernon identified a conflict between the broad award and the judge’s later explanation. The award referred to expenses in the exhibit, which appeared to include the lost-wage demand. The judge’s report said those wages were not included. The parties needed a clear determination of what was payable.
The panel relied on section 5313 and the requirement for findings supported and explained by the evidence. It directed further development and specific findings on the reimbursement amount if the parties could not agree. The $8,000 was a demand to be addressed, not a sum the Board awarded.
When reviewing an expense dispute, separate each claimed item from the evidence supporting it and the ruling that disposes of it. A general reference to an exhibit may leave a disputed category unresolved, especially when the written explanation points in another direction.
The formal order returned the case for further proceedings
The final order in Vernon rescinded the October 2020 findings and award and returned the matter to the trial level. Read that order together with the panel’s reasoning: It found the existing vocational report insufficient and agreed with the sleep-rating exclusion, while requiring a clearer reimbursement determination. The rescinded 56 percent award was not a new final disability result.
For the next stage, the record needed to distinguish medical restrictions from vocational assumptions and identify the expenses actually supported and allowed. A finding that existing proof is inadequate tells counsel which evidentiary problem needs attention; it does not supply the missing proof.
Compare each expert conclusion with the evidence it needs
Bring the medical and supplemental reports, both sides’ vocational reports, the rating and the SSDI decision. Identify each vocational limitation and the physician’s report supporting it. Mark unanswered medical questions and unexplained testing results for counsel’s review.
For reimbursements, preserve the itemized demand, supporting documents, admitted exhibit and exact wording of the award. If a claimed category appears in the demand but its treatment in the order is unclear, identify that discrepancy directly. Missing documents and an unclear ruling are different problems, and each needs its own answer.
Our guide to impairment scores and missing work restrictions explains how to compare medical findings with vocational assumptions. Vernon brings that foundation question together with the separate SSDI, sleep-rating and reimbursement issues that shaped this worker’s reconsideration decision.
Review the medical foundation and expense rulings in your claim
Bring the medical and vocational reports, SSDI decision, rating and itemized expense request with supporting documents. We can review the medical foundation for the work limitations and whether the reimbursement ruling addresses the disputed items. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.