Halajian: A Premium Defense Did Not Explain the Missed Lawsuit

A defense to an insurance bill does not explain why a policyholder failed to answer the resulting lawsuit. In Creditors Adjustment Bureau, Inc. v. Halajian, No. F090331 (Cal. Ct. App. Oct. 20, 2026), the Fifth District affirmed a default judgment after the policyholder repeatedly relied on work demands and travel to explain his inaction. The court distinguished a potentially meritorious defense from a satisfactory excuse for failing to present it.
This unpublished opinion concerns a civil suit over workers’ compensation insurance premiums, not an injured worker’s benefits. California Rule of Court 8.1115 restricts citation or reliance on unpublished opinions in other proceedings, subject to its exceptions. Its value here is the concrete procedural history and application of the standards described in the opinion.
The premium dispute became a default problem
Creditors Adjustment Bureau sued as the State Compensation Insurance Fund’s assignee to recover $86,858.26 associated with four policies for Halajian’s electrical contracting business. The complaint alleged unpaid premiums and failure to cooperate with payroll audits, resulting in estimated figures. Those allegations explain the claimed debt; they should not be confused with findings following a contested trial over the premium calculation. Opinion, pages 2–3.
The papers were delivered at a mailbox center and mailed to the address Halajian used. He did not dispute service. He did not respond, and default was entered May 25, 2022. The later appeal therefore required a route out of default before his arguments about the bill could accomplish their intended purpose.
The first denial identified the missing explanation
In August 2022, Halajian sought relief under Code of Civil Procedure section 473(b). He described an out-of-town construction project, long days and periods when he did not check his mail. The trial court found that business demands did not establish excusable neglect. He had not identified a service defect, contacted counsel or sought an extension. Pages 3–4.
The court denied relief without prejudice and invited additional facts explaining the failure to respond. His January 2023 motion concentrated on defenses to the premium claims and repeated the same work-and-travel explanation. The court denied that motion in May 2023. More argument about why the premium demand was wrong did not supply the explanation the court had requested.
A later equitable motion did not cure the same gap
After default judgment was entered January 13, 2025, Halajian again sought relief, invoking equitable grounds as well as section 473. He asserted mistake, fraud and lack of notice, challenged the assignee’s standing and relied on his self-represented status. The trial court again found no sufficient new explanation for the original failure to answer. Further reconsideration did not change the result. Pages 4–5.
The appellate court described two related but separate routes. Discretionary section 473 relief addresses mistake, inadvertence, surprise or excusable neglect. Equitable relief requires a meritorious defense, a satisfactory excuse for not presenting it and diligence in seeking relief after discovery. The overlap mattered: Both routes failed on the explanation for the default. A merits argument alone could not satisfy all three equitable requirements. Pages 7–9.
The comparisons showed what work demands did not explain
The court recognized the policy favoring resolution on the merits and the close scrutiny given to denials of default relief. That policy still required excusable conduct. It distinguished Halajian’s circumstances from authorities involving serious incapacity, a clerk’s erroneous filing-fee information, or disability combined with counsel’s withdrawal and confusing court orders. Those circumstances involved obstacles materially different from being occupied with another job. Pages 9–12.
The court also examined timing, rather than accepting the work explanation in the abstract. The project description did not adequately explain the later months of inaction before the August motion. Footnote 3 contrasted his appellate assertion of a month-long mail gap with his earlier statement that he sometimes left mail unchecked for a few days. His description of travel between January and April did not account for May, June or July before the August motion. Those gaps allowed the trial court to draw unfavorable inferences. Under abuse-of-discretion review, the appellate court did not replace those permissible inferences with the interpretation Halajian preferred. Pages 12–13.
The court reached the appeal but rejected the requested relief
The assignee argued that vacating the judgment would be an idle act because the underlying default would remain. The appellate court found that the notice and briefing sufficiently identified both the default and judgment and the orders denying relief. It construed the appeal to reach those issues and rejected the idle-act argument. That allowed review of the requested route back into the case; it did not establish entitlement to that relief. Pages 6–7.
Self-representation did not supply a different procedural standard. The standing challenge lacked supporting legal argument. Due-process arguments first raised in reply were not considered because they were not timely presented for a response. The judgment was affirmed, with costs subject to the stated fee-waiver qualification. Pages 13–14.
What a policyholder should separate in the file
Keep the premium dispute and the litigation-response history on separate tracks. The policies, audit requests, payroll submissions and payments address the alleged debt. Service papers, response dates, correspondence and evidence of an actual impediment address the default. Explaining one does not automatically explain the other.
Because service was not contested here, this opinion should not be used as a shortcut to validate every mailbox-center service. The trial court rejected Halajian’s notice objection, explaining that notice of the default judgment was not required in this default posture. That conclusion does not dispense with service of the original summons and complaint or resolve the notices required in every other procedural setting. If a default has occurred, seek prompt review of the order, service record and potential grounds for relief; do not wait for another bill or collection demand.
Our Garcia analysis concerns the different question of cancellation for an unpaid premium deposit. Halajian concerns the consequences of leaving a premium lawsuit unanswered. Neither substitutes for evaluating an injured worker’s separate claim.
Review the premium lawsuit and default record
Bring the complaint, service papers, default notices, policy bills and dated explanation of what prevented a response. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.