Garcia: An Unpaid Premium Deposit Supported Workers’ Comp Policy Cancellation

A premium deposit was still a premium payment for purposes of the cancellation ground in Insurance Code section 676.8. In Nicolas Garcia v. Dynamic Nutraceutical, Inc., No. ADJ9109258 (Cal. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. Sept. 14, 2026), the WCAB rejected an arbitrator’s distinction between unpaid earned premium and an unpaid deposit. It granted reconsideration and substituted a finding that the insurer had effectively cancelled the policy.
This is a September 14, 2026 panel decision, persuasive rather than binding precedent. It concerns a policy cancellation effective in March 2012. The ruling determines the coverage question presented; it does not decide every remaining injury, disability, or benefit issue in Garcia’s claim. Garcia, slip op. at 1–4, 8–9.
The Renewal Deposit and the Unpaid Amount
State Fund issued Dynamic a policy for January 1, 2012 through January 1, 2013. The annual rating endorsement specified a $640 deposit premium. A January 20 account notice identified $596 already paid, a $44 premium bill, and an amount to pay of $71.20. The opinion reproduces those figures without resolving their arithmetic into a different bill amount. Id. at 2.
On February 21, State Fund issued a cancellation notice for failure to make a premium payment when due. It identified the outstanding $71.20 and an effective cancellation date of March 8 at 12:01 a.m. The employer testified that he did not recall receiving the notice until later and paid after locating it in June. The policy materials described a rolling premium deposit and changed billing procedures. Id. at 2–3.
The Arbitrator Distinguished Deposits From Earned Premium
On February 2, 2026, the arbitrator found that part of the deposit was unpaid, but that State Fund had not proved unpaid earned premium. He read the contract and statute as not permitting cancellation for the unpaid deposit under the statutory notice provision. He declared the March 8 cancellation ineffective and returned remaining claim issues for further proceedings. State Fund sought reconsideration. Id. at 3–4.
The dispute was therefore not whether the deposit had been fully paid. It was whether the agreed deposit counted as the kind of premium payment whose nonpayment could support cancellation. The Board answered that interpretive question differently from the arbitrator.
The Statute’s Use of Any Premium Payment Controlled
The Board reproduced Insurance Code section 676.8. After a workers’ comp policy takes effect, cancellation must comply with the section’s notice requirements and rest on a specified ground. One ground is the policyholder’s failure to make any workers’ compensation insurance premium payment when due. The provision also identifies other grounds with different notice requirements. Id. at 5–6.
The Board found no distinction in subsection (b)(1) between earned and unearned premium and no exclusion for a premium deposit. It read the word any as addressing any kind of premium payment, rather than limiting the ground to premium earned through already-provided coverage. The policy’s cancellation clause likewise permitted cancellation for nonpayment of premium without the proposed distinction. Id. at 6–7.
The decision also rejected a distinction based on the size of the unpaid amount. Neither the policy nor the quoted statute established a minimum unpaid balance. The fact that the outstanding amount was $71.20 therefore did not make nonpayment immaterial. That conclusion depends on an actual payment obligation and a qualifying cancellation process; it does not make any small billing discrepancy an automatic cancellation. Id. at 7.
The Notice Was a Separate Requirement
The quoted statute requires written notice for the identified nonpayment grounds, makes mailing procedures relevant, and prevents cancellation if the policyholder remedies the condition to the insurer’s satisfaction within the specified period. The Board did not treat a permitted cancellation ground as a substitute for notice. Id. at 6.
On this record, it found the February 21 notice specifying March 8 cancellation compliant with the minimum written-notice requirement. The opinion describes the interval as 15 days. Its conclusion about these dates should not be turned into a general mailing-deadline calculator for other policies or notices. The employer’s later June payment was not identified as a timely cure preventing this cancellation. Id. at 2, 8.
For a different cancellation ground, our payroll-audit cancellation analysis addresses audit noncompliance. Garcia concerns nonpayment of a premium deposit; the ground and its supporting records should remain distinct.
The Unpublished-Citation Warning Did Not Supply the Merits Rule
State Fund had cited an unpublished California appellate opinion to explain the deposit. The Board found that discussion unnecessary because the statutory and policy text were unambiguous, and admonished counsel about California Rule of Court 8.1115’s restriction on citing unpublished California opinions. The warning was ancillary to the contract and statute analysis; the Board did not base the result on an unpublished decision. Id. at 7.
The panel’s persuasive status does not change the need to apply the governing statute and policy terms.
Disposition and Limits for the Injured Worker
The WCAB granted reconsideration, rescinded the arbitrator’s findings and order, and substituted findings that part of the deposit remained unpaid and that State Fund properly cancelled Dynamic’s policy effective March 8, 2012. Id. at 8–9.
A finding that this insurer’s policy was effectively cancelled is not a finding that Garcia had no work injury or no possible right to workers’ compensation benefits. The opinion does not resolve eligibility for another source of benefits, the employer’s ultimate obligations, or the remaining nature and extent of disability. Those questions require their own records and applicable procedures. A coverage dispute should not be equated with a universal denial of the worker’s claim.
For review of policy notices, payment records, and the separate injury-claim documents, see our workers’ compensation services.
Discuss the documents and legal questions in your situation
Mishra X Trial Lawyers can review the documents and legal issues described here. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.