Bracy: An Unclear Denial Left the Filing Clock Paused

Documents and case folders on a law-office desk.

A letter saying your workers’ compensation claim is denied can be frightening, especially when you are already off work and waiting for a medical evaluation. It can also be confusing if the next paragraph promises a decision after the doctor reports. Before deciding that you have missed a deadline—or that it is safe to wait—read the complete letter and the earlier claim paperwork together.

In Bracy v. State of California, No. ADJ18306857 (WCAB Oct. 15, 2024), that mixed message mattered. The Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board found that the first denial was too uncertain to restart the filing period after the worker had filed his claim form. A later, clear denial started the one-year period the Board applied, and his application filed within that year was timely.

Two letters gave different messages

Derrell Bracy’s physician took him off work on March 8, 2022, and he immediately reported his absence as work related. A March 22 employer letter acknowledged that report and enclosed a DWC-1 claim form. Bracy filed the form with the employer on March 31.

The first denial arrived in the chronology on June 7. It said the employer was “denying all liability.” But the next paragraph said a panel of Qualified Medical Evaluators had been requested, directed Bracy to select a doctor and arrange an appointment, and promised that he would be notified of a liability decision after the report.

The first letter’s wording in Bracy therefore did two things at once: It announced a denial and described the decision as still ahead. The Board found that the worker could reasonably understand that he should wait for the evaluation before taking further action.

On October 7, 2022, the employer sent a second letter completely disclaiming liability. Bracy filed his Application for Adjudication on October 6, 2023. The Board treated the second letter as the final, clear denial and found the application timely.

The claim form paused the filing clock

The DWC-1 submitted to an employer and an Application filed with the WCAB are separate documents. The claim form’s effect on the filing period was central here.

Labor Code section 5405 provides a one-year period measured from specified events: The date of injury, the expiration of a period covered by disability payments, or the last furnishing of medical benefits. A limitations defense requires review of the applicable events and any rule that pauses the period. In Bracy, the Board emphasized that the employer carried the burden of proving the defense.

For cumulative injuries, section 5412 connects the legal injury date to both disability and actual or reasonably discoverable knowledge that work caused it. The Board explained that an agreement about the period of work exposure was different from an agreement about that legal date. By March 31, Bracy had disability and had claimed the work connection.

The filing-period analysis in Bracy then applied section 5401(d). For covered injuries, filing the claim form with the employer pauses the time limits in sections 5405 and 5406 until the claim is denied or the injury becomes presumptively compensable under section 5402. Lawyers call this pause “tolling.”

The current section 5401(d) retains that rule for injuries occurring on or after January 1, 1994. It also specifies when a form is deemed filed for that subdivision. Preserve the completed form and delivery or mailing evidence rather than relying only on a recollection that the injury was reported.

A promised future decision made the first denial unclear

The Board examined the substance of the June letter, including its instruction to obtain a medical evaluation and its promise of another decision. That language could reasonably lead Bracy to believe no further action was needed while he waited for the evaluation.

To explain the concern, the Board drew on McDaniel v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd., 218 Cal.App.3d 1011, 1017 (1990). That case involved medical treatment benefits and the tolling provision of Labor Code section 5410, a different statutory setting. Its reasoning addressed employer conduct that reasonably signals acceptance of responsibility and leads a worker to believe a filing is unnecessary.

The reasoning in Bracy applied the same protective purpose to the claim-form tolling provision. The first letter left liability open pending the evaluation; the October letter finally disclaimed it. The Board therefore measured the one-year period from October 7, 2022, and accepted the October 6, 2023 application.

This is a filing-deadline analysis. The separate section 5402 presumption concerns the employer’s time to reject liability and the resulting rules for proving compensability. Those questions require their own review of the applicable statute and record. For a reader facing two mixed messages, the immediate task is to preserve both letters and obtain a deadline calculation promptly.

The medical objection also needed specific evidence

The employer also challenged the medical basis for Bracy’s psychiatric injury because QME psychologist Margaret Jones had not reviewed his personnel file. The Board examined the actual objection: The employer identified nothing in that file that reasonably could have changed her opinion on work causation.

The medical-evidence discussion in Bracy accepted the opinion based on the psychologist’s clinical findings and expertise. The Board explained that a party challenging the record needed specific supporting citations. If the employer wanted clarification, it could have sought a deposition or supplemental report.

The practical point is to connect a missing record to a medical question. Identify the particular document, the fact it supplies and why that fact matters to the evaluator’s reasoning. A general complaint that a file was not reviewed leaves that connection unexplained.

The Board denied reconsideration. The judge’s July 25, 2024 findings and award remained in place, including the findings of industrial psychiatric injury and a timely claim.

Preserve the whole sequence before calculating a deadline

Keep the injury report, completed DWC-1 and proof of filing, every denial or follow-up letter, QME correspondence, benefit-payment records and Application filing proof. Put the dates in order and mark language suggesting that a decision is final or that another decision will follow.

For a cumulative injury, include medical advice and other communications about when you understood the connection to work. For a medical-evidence dispute, identify the actual missing records and the questions they raise.

Bracy shows why a letter’s title and a single date may give an incomplete picture. Ask for advice while time remains, including whether an Application should be filed while medical evidence is still being developed. Our denied-claim guide explains the separate documents and review routes; this decision illustrates why the wording of a purported denial can matter to the filing period.

Review the denial letters and claim filing dates

Bring both denial letters, the completed claim form and filing evidence, medical correspondence and any Application receipt. We can review what the letters communicated and which filing rules apply to your claim. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.