Johnson v. MHX: A Train Collision Defeated the Six-Month Bar, but the Psychiatric Claim Remained Open

In Marlon Johnson v. MHX, LLC; Zurich American Insurance, No. ADJ12944107 (WCAB Mar. 30, 2022), the Appeals Board concluded that a commuter train striking a truck qualified as a sudden and extraordinary employment condition on the record before it. The worker’s psychiatric claim therefore was not barred by the six-month requirement in Labor Code § 3208.3(d). The panel did not decide that the worker had proved a compensable psychiatric injury.
That distinction is the decision’s central practical value. The filed Opinion and Decision After Reconsideration rescinded the prior findings and returned the matter for additional proceedings, with other issues deferred. It is a three-commissioner WCAB panel decision after reconsideration that returned the matter for further proceedings.
The issue of injury to the psyche is premature as the record before us does not contain substantial medical evidence.
Johnson, No. ADJ12944107, at 13.
The collision record supplied more than a description of severe harm
The parties stipulated that Johnson had worked for the employer for less than six months and that physical injuries from the January 10, 2020 incident were industrial. The psychiatric claim remained disputed. Johnson described bumper-to-bumper traffic near a railroad crossing, descending crossing arms, the crossing arms’ position between the cab and trailer, and the train’s impact. Dash-camera footage was part of the trial record. See pages 2–6.
The panel evaluated the actual sequence. The first indication that other vehicles were escaping did not give him time to leave before impact. The factual detail mattered because the statutory exception concerns the employment condition causing the psychiatric injury, not simply the emotional intensity of its consequences.
Suddenness and extraordinariness did separate work
The analysis at pages 9–12 treated suddenness as involving an unexpected event without prior notice in the relevant circumstances. It then asked whether the train collision was common, usual, expected, or frequent for the occupation. The panel concluded the described event was extraordinary and noted the lack of evidence that such train collisions were routine for truck drivers.
That reasoning is narrower than saying driving accidents always qualify. A court or panel comparing another case must examine the event, occupation, and evidence. An ordinary occurrence that happens to cause serious injury is not necessarily extraordinary. Conversely, working in a job that involves vehicles does not by itself make every unusual vehicle-related event ordinary.
The panel’s use of other decisions requires care
The opinion applies appellate discussion of the statutory terms and considers a prior panel decision involving a train and tractor. Its footnote explains the limited status of panel decisions. See page 11, footnote 4. A practitioner should preserve that hierarchy when citing Johnson: It is a reasoned factual application, not a new universally binding definition of the exception.
The comparison is most useful when supported by evidence of warning, the worker’s position, how the event developed, and what is ordinarily encountered in the job. A brief that merely lists the accident’s severity can miss the feature that distinguishes the cited decision.
No-fault compensation did not resolve every defense
The defendant raised an alleged traffic-code violation. The panel rejected treating that argument as dispositive under a no-fault compensation system. See page 12. The relevant inquiry remained the statutory one. This was not a civil negligence trial allocating liability between the truck driver and the railroad.
The panel also distinguished the presumption under Labor Code § 5402(b) from the six-month defense. Its discussion cautions against assuming that acceptance or presumptive compensability of an injury automatically removes the separate psychiatric-injury threshold. The scope of an admission and the statutory defense must be examined rather than inferred from a broad reference to an accepted claim.
The missing medical proof controlled the disposition
At page 13, the panel expressly found the issue of psychiatric injury premature because the record did not contain substantial medical evidence. It directed further medical discovery and a comprehensive medical-legal evaluation. The operative disposition removed the six-month bar while deferring all other issues.
Labor Code § 3208.3 contains additional requirements concerning diagnosis, disability or need for treatment, and causation. Its general causation rule differs from the substantial-cause rule for qualifying violent-act circumstances. The remaining statutory requirements and any award of psychiatric disability benefits still required adjudication.
A two-track litigation record follows from the holding
The first track develops the event: footage, testimony, incident records, job context, and the sequence bearing on suddenness and extraordinariness. The second develops medical injury and causation, including the evaluator’s reasoning and consideration of relevant history. A favorable ruling on the first track can leave the second entirely unresolved.
Our collision evidence guide translates that distinction into preservation steps. The doctrinal lesson is to match the requested finding to the proof available. A panel can reject one defense without deciding the ultimate claim, and a case summary should make that procedural outcome unmistakable.
Practical implications: Match the requested finding to the evidence. The collision recording addresses the threshold defense; it cannot supply the physician’s missing diagnosis or causation opinion. Preserve the particular finding and remand order so the next medical evaluation answers the issue the panel actually left open.
For related questions, see medical-care and benefit records in California claims and the distinction among injury, procedure, and benefit disputes. These address separate issues and should be applied to their own factual records.
Frequently asked questions
What authority issued this decision?
The WCAB issued this three-commissioner panel decision after reconsideration and returned the matter for further proceedings.
What finding did the panel make?
It found that the psychiatric claim was not barred by the six-month employment requirement because of the sudden and extraordinary condition on this record.
What remained after reconsideration?
The psychiatric-injury merits and other issues remained for further proceedings, including development of substantial medical evidence.
Review your collision and medical records
Our firm reviews incident reports, dash-camera footage, job descriptions, and medical-legal evaluations in disputed California workers’ compensation claims. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com to evaluate your record.