Retired While Your Workers’ Comp Claim Was Denied? Show Why You Stopped Working

You retired while your work-injury claim was denied. The insurer later accepted the claim, but says retirement ended your right to temporary disability. The retirement date alone does not answer that question. The record needs to show why you stopped working, whether the injury caused the wage loss, and whether you remained willing to work.
A useful starting point is the January 16, 2026 WCAB panel decision in Hillmon. It upheld benefits for a defined period after retirement based on medical support and unrebutted evidence that the injury and lost income drove retirement while the worker remained willing to work.
Separate leaving one job from leaving all work
The published California rule applied in Hillmon comes from Gonzales v. Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (1998) 68 Cal.App.4th 843, 850. The factual questions are whether the worker left all employment or only that job, and whether the injury caused retirement or interrupted plans to work elsewhere. The worker must establish the relevant work intent by a preponderance of the evidence—show that account is more likely true than not. Hillmon, pages 3 and 7–8.
Someone may take a pension because an injury prevents the regular job, no modified work is offered and income is running out. Another person may retire intending never to work again, regardless of the injury. Those are different explanations for later wage loss. A pension application may be relevant, but it should be read with the medical and employment record.
In Hillmon, the carpenter said he asked twice for light duty and would have performed it. He also said he would not have retired had temporary disability been paid and would have tried to return after recovering. The district called no supervisor or coworker to contradict that account. The adopted report accepted it, and the panel emphasized that it was unrebutted. Decision pages 3–4; adopted report, pages 8–9.
Review your own history honestly. A plan to retire before the injury, an actual modified-work offer or a statement that you intended to stop all employment may matter. Explain an apparent inconsistency with supporting facts rather than changing the old document or assuming a later explanation controls.
Build the medical timeline and the income timeline together
The two timelines answer different questions. Medical records show what work you could perform and when. Income and retirement records help explain why you chose retirement at that point. Neither timeline replaces the other.
| Period or event | Records and the question they answer |
|---|---|
| Before retirement | Work-status reports, job duties, modified-work requests and replies Question: What work could you do, and was it available? |
| The retirement decision | Denial notice, leave balances, pay records, retirement application and contemporaneous communications Question: Why did you retire when you did? |
| Weeks now disputed | Medical reports, work offers, earnings and benefit notices Question: What caused wage loss during each claimed period? |
| Recovery or medical stability | Later work releases and medical-legal findings Question: What evidence supports the proposed end date? |
Do not substitute an empty bank account for medical proof. Financial pressure can explain a retirement decision; it does not establish that the work injury disabled you for every later week. Conversely, a doctor’s restriction does not by itself explain whether a separate decision to leave all work caused the wage loss.
Describe the actual light-duty exchange
Preserve requests and responses, not simply a conclusion that the employer “would not accommodate.” Identify whom you asked, when, which work you discussed and what the employer said. If you had performed modified work after a prior injury, explain whether you raised that possibility again.
If work was offered, obtain the duties, hours, pay and relevant restrictions. Keep your response and any clarification from your doctor. An actual job you declined presents a different record from a general assertion that the employer could have found something.
For the post-retirement period in Hillmon, the report found no bona fide offer of modified or alternative work. Once retirement was found consistent with continuing entitlement, the report treated such an offer as the employer’s route to avoid temporary-disability liability during the medically supported restrictions before permanent-and-stationary status. It focused on the worker’s actual access to work. Pages 9–11. That makes the duties, restrictions, dates and response to an actual offer central to this review.
Identify the period sought, rather than asking for indefinite benefits
The award in Hillmon covered January 1, 2024 through April 22, 2025. Medical evidence supported temporary total disability, and the latter date was the worker’s permanent-and-stationary date. The finite period distinguished the case from arguments about an unsupported ongoing award. Pages 1, 4 and 8.
Your proposed period needs its own support. Identify the medical findings, the reason wages were lost and any actual work during that period. Match each disputed week to the medical work status and any wages actually earned or paid; identify when the worker became permanent and stationary.
For the financial review, bring pension and other income records with the wage-loss history. Mark which payments replaced wages during the specific weeks claimed.
What to bring for a focused review
Bring the retirement papers, denial and acceptance notices, medical work-status reports, pay and leave records, any medical-legal evaluation, and the light-duty exchange. Mark the specific weeks the administrator refuses to pay and its stated reason. Our temporary partial disability guide addresses the separate calculation question when restricted work produces lower earnings.
Mishra X can review whether the retirement, work and medical records support a post-retirement wage-loss claim. The first task is to explain the actual decision to stop working and the particular period for which benefits are sought.
Review a post-retirement disability dispute
Bring the denial and acceptance notices, retirement papers, work-status reports and actual light-duty exchange so we can assess the disputed benefit period. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.