Thorn: The Wrong Post-Termination Rule Required a New Psychiatric-Injury Decision

Documents and case folders on a law-office desk.

Losing your job while struggling with distress you believe came from harassment can leave you unsure where to turn. If you report a psychiatric work injury after the job ends, the timing matters. So do the complaints you made earlier, the medical evidence and the precise rule used to decide your claim.

In Thorn v. Forbix Capital Corp., No. ADJ12248957 (WCAB Oct. 6, 2025), the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board set aside a rejection of a psychiatric injury claim. The judge had used the wrong post-termination statute and had not made the findings needed to apply the proper defenses. The claim returned for further proceedings and a new decision.

The record included complaints before the job ended

Quinton Thorn worked as a receptionist from June 11, 2018 through April 24, 2019. He filed his workers’ compensation application on June 3, 2019, alleging cumulative injury that included stress, depression and anxiety. After he withdrew his neck and back allegations, the case concerned psychiatric injury.

Thorn testified that management criticized his clothing and made inappropriate comments connected with his gender identity and sexuality. The employer’s president disputed that account and described the dress policy as neutral and consistently enforced. The Board reviewed a contested record, including testimony and employment communications.

The employment correspondence described in Thorn included a March 28 dress-code email and his March 29 request for clarification. On April 12, he wrote that the clothing examples HR had circulated appeared to permit the same pants he had been told not to wear. He raised gender identity and expression, described earlier inappropriate questions and said the situation was taking a toll on him.

HR’s April 15 response said its guidance applied to all employees and sought professional clothing consistent with company policy. An April 16 HR log recorded further discussion of his complaints and a proposed investigation. His employment ended on April 24. Those records mattered to the questions of actual workplace events, possible earlier notice of injury and the claimed harassment.

Psychiatric claims have their own post-termination rule

The trial judge rejected the claim under Labor Code section 3600(a)(10). That provision expressly excepts psychiatric injuries governed by section 3208.3(e). The statutory analysis in Thorn identified that error and directed the judge to use the psychiatric-injury standard.

Under section 3208.3(e), the employer first must establish that the claim was filed after notice of termination or layoff and concerns a psychiatric injury occurring before that notice. Notice of termination and the effective end of employment are separate dates to establish.

The burden-of-proof discussion in Thorn then places the exception question on the worker. The worker must establish predominant causation by actual employment events and at least one applicable exception. The statute identifies five:

These are evidence questions with different requirements. An allegation of harassment, a medical diagnosis and a finding of harassment by a trier of fact do different work. In Thorn’s case, the Board identified evidence suggesting possible earlier notice and sexual-harassment allegations, and called for appropriate factual development.

Before applying the defense, the judge needed to determine the cumulative injury date under section 5412. That date combines disability with the worker’s actual or reasonably expected knowledge that the disability was caused by present or past employment. A claim-filing date or last day of work does not automatically answer both questions.

The injury-date analysis in Thorn applied State Compensation Insurance Fund v. Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (Rodarte), 119 Cal.App.4th 998, 1005 (2004). Disability for this purpose means compensable temporary or permanent disability. Treatment alone is insufficient, although treatment or modified work may be evidence of permanent disability.

The Board also relied on City of Fresno v. Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (Johnson), 163 Cal.App.3d 467, 473 (1985), in discussing knowledge. Ordinarily, medical advice is needed to connect disability with work unless the nature of the disability and employment circumstances make that connection recognizable. The timing inquiry therefore needs medical evidence as well as the employment chronology.

The Board directed the trial judge to determine the injury date in the first instance, with an opportunity for the parties to address it and provide additional evidence at the judge’s discretion. That finding was essential to evaluating the employer’s threshold showing.

The evaluator could address medicine, while the judge decided the defense

The medical opinions differed. Qualified medical evaluator David Taylor diagnosed an adjustment disorder with mixed anxiety and depressed mood, but concluded the condition was nonindustrial and reported no temporary or permanent disability or need for treatment. Treating psychologist Judith Schwafel reported temporary partial disability and attributed 85 percent of its cause to the work events Thorn described. Those were competing medical opinions in the record.

Dr. Taylor also concluded that the post-termination statute barred the claim and that specified exceptions were inapplicable. The discussion of the evaluator’s role in Thorn assigned interpretation of the statute and its exceptions to the judge and Board. The evaluator’s task was to supply medical expertise.

The medical-evidence discussion in Thorn also observed that the QME did not appear to have received the employment records. Applying Escobedo v. Marshalls, 70 Cal.Comp.Cases 604, 621 (WCAB 2005) (en banc), the Board required an opinion grounded in pertinent facts, an adequate history and examination, reasonable medical probability and explained reasoning.

For a worker reviewing an unfavorable report, identify both the medical conclusion and its foundation. Which workplace events and records did the doctor consider? What disability and causation questions did the report answer? A doctor’s legal conclusion about a statutory defense needs to be separated from the medical evidence supporting the claim.

A good-faith personnel-action defense required its own findings

The trial judge had also said, in one sentence, that the dress-code interactions appeared to be a good-faith personnel action. The Board examined the separate defense under section 3208.3(h), for which the employer bears the burden of proof.

The personnel-action analysis in Thorn applied the sequence in Rolda, 66 Cal.Comp.Cases 241, 246–247 (WCAB 2001) (en banc). The judge first identifies actual employment events; medical evidence then addresses whether they predominantly caused the psychiatric injury. If that showing is made, the judge determines whether relevant events were lawful, nondiscriminatory, good-faith personnel actions. Medical evidence addresses whether those actions were a substantial cause of the injury.

That structure matters where an employer describes its conduct as enforcing a neutral policy and the worker describes discrimination. The factual and legal character of the events and their medical contribution require their own findings. A policy label cannot supply the whole analysis.

There was a further procedural defect: The defense had not been raised before or during trial. The parties learned it was at issue when the findings issued, after they had lacked an opportunity to present focused argument and medical evidence on it. The Board found that deciding a different theory without a meaningful opportunity to be heard violated due process.

The Board returned the claim for a properly supported decision

The formal order in Thorn rescinded the April 23, 2021 findings and returned the matter to the trial level. The October 6, 2025 decision required further development and a new decision under the correct standards.

The Board identified possible earlier notice and harassment as factual issues appropriate for additional evidence. If the personnel-action defense was raised on return, it required specific Rolda findings and, if necessary, further medical questions about which actions contributed to injury and to what degree. Thorn’s next step was a supported adjudication of those issues on the developed record.

Build a timeline that separates notice, injury and the end of work

Keep the termination notice, its delivery record, the effective termination date, the claim filing and the earlier complaints. Preserve complete email threads and the actual policies being discussed. Distinguish a complaint about workplace conduct from evidence that the employer had notice of a psychiatric injury.

Alongside those records, collect treatment notes, work-status reports and medical advice about the work connection. Identify when disability began and what the doctor knew about the employment events. Give the evaluator the relevant employment documents, while keeping disputed facts accurately identified as disputed.

Our Boursalian analysis addresses a missing psychiatric evaluation after the selected QME retired. Phan examines medical evidence that failed the initial causation threshold. Thorn addresses the correct post-termination rule, the injury-date finding and a fair opportunity to address a separate personnel-action defense.

Review the evidence behind a psychiatric-injury denial

Bring the termination notice, earlier complaints, complete employment communications and medical reports. We can review the injury date, notice evidence and statutory questions behind a psychiatric-injury denial. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.