Rogers: The Medical Record Needed More Work Before a Disability Award

A disability award can offer hope after years of painful limitations. A challenge to its medical foundation can leave an injured worker unsure what remains protected. In Rogers v. California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, No. ADJ12129088 (WCAB Oct. 22, 2026), the Appeals Board replaced a 100 percent permanent-disability award with findings deferring that question and several related issues. It retained an award of temporary disability and further medical treatment. The reason was a record requiring clearer medical analysis and a fair opportunity to respond to new evidence. The substituted findings appear in Rogers and the award follows on the next page.
The earlier award and later medical evidence addressed different injuries
Gabriel Rogers worked as a correctional officer and later a parole agent and defensive tactics instructor. The record described repeated training takedowns, protective gear, noise exposure and worsening limitations in ordinary activities. His testimony included difficulty gripping cups, dressing, driving and managing personal care. Those details gave the disability dispute a concrete human setting; they still needed to be evaluated through adequate medical reporting.
A February 2019 stipulated award had resolved a 2010 injury at 42 percent permanent disability. The later case concerned cumulative injury during his career through November 2018. The trial judge awarded 100 percent permanent disability without apportionment. The employer challenged psychiatric-injury causation, the method of combining or adding impairments, treatment of the earlier award, and admission of a supplemental report. The opinion sets out that history in Rogers and the earlier stipulation on the following pages.
Psychiatric injury causation needed an explanation before a denial or award
Under the framework discussed in the opinion, a physician must identify the causes of psychiatric injury and distinguish them from the causes of permanent disability. The judge then resolves the legal questions about actual employment events and any lawful, nondiscriminatory, good-faith personnel-action defense. The Board applied Rolda v. Pitney Bowes, Inc., 66 Cal.Comp.Cases 241, 245–246 (2001) (en banc), in Rogers, with the sequence continuing on the next page.
Dr. Allen Lee’s reporting attributed psychiatric causation to several sources, including supervisor treatment, cumulative orthopedic injury, occupational hazards, treatment denials and an earlier specific injury. His later reporting also allocated permanent disability. The Board found that the analysis did not adequately isolate the actual events or keep injury causation and disability apportionment distinct.
Two distinctions mattered. Supervisor conduct involving a subsequent employer could require amendment of the pleadings if supported by the evidence. Distress about denied treatment needed to be explained as a possible consequence of deprivation of care or as a reaction to the litigation process. The Board also identified confusion between the earlier psychiatric impairment and the later assessment. Its analysis in Rogers required clarification rather than treating the percentages as interchangeable.
The employer proposed removing the disputed factors and denying psychiatric compensability because the remaining work contribution would fall below the required threshold. The Board rejected that remedy. The flawed medical method did not itself establish an affirmative absence of industrial causation. Further development was needed to decide the issue. Rogers explains that distinction, with the conclusion continuing on the next page.
Adding impairments required medical reasoning about daily activities
The ordinary Combined Values Chart and addition of impairments can produce different ratings. Under Vigil v. County of Kern, 89 Cal.Comp.Cases 686, 692 (2024) (en banc), the evidence must explain the effect of the impairments on activities of daily living. Separate effects without overlap, or overlapping effects that increase the overall functional impact, require a reasoned medical explanation. The Board’s discussion begins in Rogers and continues on the next page.
Dr. Isaac Schmidt, the agreed orthopedic evaluator, died while the case was pending. Dr. Jonathan Nissanoff then supplied a report addressing the changed Vigil framework. His ordinary combined calculation produced 91 percent permanent disability before apportionment; his alternative grouping and addition method produced 100 percent. The difference made the supporting explanation consequential, rather than a choice between preferred totals.
Admitting the late report also required a fair chance to answer it
Discovery had closed at the mandatory settlement conference before the intervening decision and Dr. Schmidt’s death. The Board found no error in admitting Dr. Nissanoff’s later report in those circumstances. It nevertheless required the evidentiary record to be reopened more broadly. The employer had preserved its objection to admitting the report. That objection did not waive a fair opportunity to rebut it through supplemental medical reporting, deposition testimony or both. The linked discussion in Rogers continues through the next page.
That separates two questions: Whether the new report can enter the record, and whether the complete record supports the proposed award. Our Read analysis addresses a different record in which an unlisted supplemental report was excluded. Neither decision makes all late reporting admissible.
The earlier award required proof of functional overlap
Labor Code section 4664(b) gives a prior permanent-disability award a continuing effect, but the employer must prove both the prior award and overlap with the subsequent disability. As explained through Kopping v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd., 142 Cal.App.4th 1099 (2006), identifying the same body part is insufficient. The comparison concerns the actual disability factors. Rogers states that burden and develops its application on the following pages.
The gastrointestinal ratings used the same medical rating table. The shoulder assessments and psychiatric impairment also presented possible overlap. Yet the record lacked a sufficiently precise functional comparison, and two Dr. Ezekiel Fink reports underlying the earlier award were absent from the admitted evidence. The Board therefore deferred apportionment and permanent disability for further development, rather than fixing a new percentage.
The substituted award identifies what remained and what was deferred
The operative findings deferred psychiatric injury, permanent disability, apportionment and attorney fees. They awarded temporary disability from November 21, 2018 through June 17, 2021, subject to the stated statutory limits and credits, and further medical treatment for the accepted injury. The actual substituted findings begin in Rogers; the award and express admission of Dr. Nissanoff’s report follow on the final two pages.
For an injured worker reviewing a similar dispute, bring the earlier award and its medical basis alongside the current reports, objections and orders. A missing causation explanation, an unsupported rating method and an incomplete overlap comparison require different evidence. Our guide to a late report after an evaluator’s death addresses preparing that narrower procedural question.
Review the reports behind the disputed disability award
Bring the complete medical reports, earlier award, trial findings and discovery orders so we can identify the evidence and issues still requiring a decision. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.