City of Jackson v. WCAB (Rice): Genetic Factors and the Disability-Causation Record

City of Jackson v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (Rice), 11 Cal. App. 5th 109 (2017), accepted the medical explanation for a disputed 49% personal-history allocation in one officer’s cervical-spine disability claim. The allocation included heredity and other personal-history factors. The court rejected the Board’s categorical objections to genetics and its assessment of this evaluator’s combined reports; it did not approve every allocation in the report or establish a percentage for other workers.
The case and its posture
- Official Citation: City of Jackson v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (Rice), 11 Cal. App. 5th 109 (2017)
- Appellate Court: California Court of Appeal, Third Appellate District (Sacramento), Case No. C078706
- WCAB Case Number: ADJ8701916
- Decision Date: April 26, 2017
- Judicial Panel: Opinion by Blease, Acting P.J.; Hoch, J., and Renner, J., concurring
- Primary Official Source: California Official Slip Opinion (C078706)
The statutory change behind the dispute
The court contrasted the former approach to pre-existing pathology with the causation framework adopted in 2004 through Senate Bill 899. Under §4663, the relevant allocation concerns causes of permanent disability, including other factors, rather than simply asking whether an industrial injury aggravated an earlier condition. The court relied on the statutory change in rejecting a categorical rule against inherited pathology. Rice, slip op. at 5–8.
For a current claim, §4663(e) separately excludes injuries or illnesses covered by its specifically enumerated presumptive statutes from subdivisions (a), (b), and (c). This cervical-spine opinion should not be generalized to every condition affecting a public-safety employee. Whether the current claim falls within an enumerated protection is a distinct statutory question.
Factual Background and Medical Chronology
Christopher Rice worked for the City of Jackson as a police officer, beginning as a reserve officer in August 2004 and transitioning to full-time status in 2005. (Slip op. at p. 2.) On April 22, 2009, at 29 years of age, Rice sustained a cumulative industrial injury to his neck arising out of and in the course of his employment. (Slip op. at p. 2.) Rice and his treating physician attributed his neck, shoulder, arm, and hand pain to repetitive bending and twisting of his head and neck during police duties. Diagnostic X-rays and MRI scans revealed severe cervical degenerative disc disease and cervical radiculopathy. (Slip op. at pp. 2–3.)
In November 2011, panel QME Dr. Sloane Blair examined Rice and reviewed his medical records prior to neck surgery. In her initial evaluation, Dr. Blair diagnosed cervical radiculopathy and cervical degenerative disc disease. She apportioned causation of the disability equally at 25 percent across four distinct categories: (1) Work activities for the City of Jackson; (2) prior work activities; (3) personal activities (including prior injuries and recreational pursuits); and (4) personal history, which included heritability and genetics, a history of smoking, and a prior diagnosis of lateral epicondylitis. (Slip op. at p. 3.)
Dr. Blair re-evaluated Rice in May 2013 following cervical spine surgery. Her clinical diagnosis remained unchanged, but she revised her apportionment determination based on newly published peer-reviewed medical studies. (Slip op. at p. 3.) Dr. Blair cited specific scientific literature demonstrating that genomics and genetic heritability play a dominant causative role in cervical spine degenerative disc disease. Consequently, she updated her apportionment percentages: 17 percent to City employment, 17 percent to previous employment, 17 percent to personal activities, and 49 percent to personal history (including genetic issues, a brief smoking history, and epicondylitis). (Slip op. at p. 3.)
In response to supplemental inquiries from Rice's counsel, Dr. Blair issued detailed supplemental reports explaining her scientific rationale. She cited twin studies and medical literature establishing that the cited studies indicated a high genetic contribution to cervical disc degeneration, which Dr. Blair interpreted and applied to this record. (Slip op. at p. 4.) One cited study explicitly found: "'Twin studies demonstrate that degeneration in adults may be explained up to 75 percent by genes alone,'" while environmental factors such as physical loading, smoking, and age contributed only 2 to 7 percent variation, and whole-body vibration contributed nothing. (Slip op. at pp. 4, 12.)
Dr. Blair noted that while the scientific literature supported apportioning up to 75 percent to personal history, she elected to err on the side of the patient to account for potential study limitations, selecting 49 percent as the lowest reasonable level. (Slip op. at pp. 4, 12.) She emphasized that even without researching Rice's specific family medical history or performing genetic testingthe medical evidence established a strong genetic causation for non-traumatic degenerative disc disease. (Slip op. at pp. 4, 12–13.)
Procedural History and Administrative Decisions
The matter proceeded to trial before a Workers' Compensation Administrative Judge (ALJ). The ALJ issued a decision evaluating Dr. Blair's four-way apportionment breakdown. The ALJ determined that Dr. Blair failed to provide sufficient information detailing "how and why" Rice's prior work activities and prior personal activities caused his current permanent disability. Consequently, the ALJ rejected the two 17 percent allocations as lacking substantial medical evidence. (Slip op. at p. 4.) However, the ALJ found that the City carried its burden of proof regarding the 49 percent apportionment to personal history and genetic factors, upholding that portion of the report. (Slip op. at p. 4.) The ALJ's rejection of the two 17 percent allocations was not appealed and was not at issue on writ of review. (Slip op. at p. 4.)
Rice filed a petition for reconsideration with the Workers' Compensation Appeals Board (WCAB), arguing that the 49 percent genetic apportionment was speculative because he had no documented family history of disc disease and no genetic testing had been performed. The WCAB granted reconsideration, reversed the ALJ, and directed an award of unapportioned permanent disability. The Board reasoned that: (1) Apportioning causation to genetics opens the door to impermissible immutable factors; (2) relying on genetic makeup improperly apportioned the causation of the injury rather than the extent of disability; and (3) Dr. Blair's report failed to constitute substantial medical evidence. (Slip op. at pp. 2, 5.) The City of Jackson petitioned the Third District Court of Appeal for a writ of review.
Precise Legal Questions Presented
The Third District Court of Appeal addressed three distinct legal questions:
- 1. Immutable Factors: Does California Labor Code Section 4663 permit permanent disability apportionment based on underlying genetic predisposition or non-industrial pathology, or does genetics constitute an "impermissible immutable factor"?
- 2. Injury vs. Disability Causation: Did the QME improperly apportion the causation of the industrial injury rather than the causation of the permanent disability?
- 3. Substantial Medical Evidence: Can population-based scientific literature establishing genetic heritability constitute substantial medical evidence of apportionment in an individual claim without direct genetic testing or documented family history?
Step-by-Step Judicial Reasoning of the Court of Appeal
The Court of Appeal rejected the Board’s three stated grounds for reconsideration, analyzing the statutory language of Senate Bill 899 and established medical-legal principles step by step.
Step 1: SB 899 Permits Apportionment to Genetic Pathology and Inherited Predisposition
The court first addressed the Board's assertion that genetics is an "impermissible immutable factor." Acting Presiding Justice Blease noted that Senate Bill 899 fundamentally altered California apportionment law. Citing the Supreme Court's decision in Brodie v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (2007) 40 Cal. 4th 1313, and en banc Board precedent in Escobedo v. Marshalls (2005) 70 Cal. Comp. Cases 604, the court explained that apportionment is now based on causation of permanent disability. (Slip op. at pp. 5–7.)
Under current law, express statutory authority allows apportionment to "other factors," including non-industrial pathology, asymptomatic prior conditions, and inherited predispositions. (Slip op. at pp. 6–7.) Precluding apportionment based on immutable factors would nullify the exact statutory reforms enacted by the Legislature. The court discussed earlier Board reasoning and appellate authority, including Kos v. WCAB (2008) 73 Cal. Comp. Cases 529 (pre-existing genetic predisposition to degenerative disc disease), Escobedo (pre-existing non-industrial knee arthritis), and Acme Steel v. WCAB (2013) 218 Cal. App. 4th 1137 (congenital degeneration of the inner ear). The court distinguished the Board’s own earlier reasoning from its new categorical objection to genetics and found no relevant legal distinction between a pre-existing congenital or pathological condition and a pre-existing degenerative condition caused by heredity or genetics. (Slip op. at pp. 7–8.)
Step 2: The Evaluator Properly Apportioned Causation of Disability, Not Injury
The court next rejected the Board's conclusion that Dr. Blair apportioned causation of injury rather than disability. Citing Allied Compensation Ins. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com. (1963) 211 Cal. App. 2d 821, the court defined permanent disability as the physical impairment and wage loss residual of an injury, which results in actual incapacity or functional restrictions. (Slip op. at p. 9.)
In Rice's case, his permanent disability consisted of severe neck, arm, shoulder, and hand pain that produced concrete work restrictions: He was restricted from sitting for more than two hours per day, lifting over 15 pounds, or engaging in vibratory activities like long-distance driving. (Slip op. at pp. 9–10.) His injury, by contrast, was cumulative repetitive motion during patrol work. Dr. Blair did not find that repetitive neck movement was caused by genetics. Instead, she properly concluded that Rice's physical disability—his debilitating pain and functional work restrictions—was caused 17 percent by industrial work activities and 49 percent by non-industrial personal history, including heritability/genetics, brief smoking history, and prior lateral epicondylitis—not genetics alone. (Slip op. at p. 10.)
Step 3: Population Studies Provided Substantial Medical Evidence for Individual Inference
Finally, the court reviewed whether Dr. Blair's reports met the legal standard for substantial medical evidence under Escobedo. Substantial evidence requires a medical opinion framed within reasonable medical probability, supported by adequate examination and history, and setting forth the detailed "how and why" reasoning behind the doctor's conclusions. (Slip op. at pp. 10–11.)
Rice argued that Dr. Blair's opinion was speculative because she failed to research his family medical history and no genetic testing was performed. The court rejected this argument, clarifying the true scientific meaning of the cited literature. Twin studies establishing that 73 to 75 percent of adult disc degeneration is explained by genes alone do not mean that 75 percent of patients are exclusively genetic while 25 percent are non-genetic. The court treated the studies as addressing genetic contribution to disc degeneration, rather than dividing patients into exclusively genetic and exclusively environmental groups. That was part of its assessment of the identified literature and the evaluator’s reasoning, not a universal finding about every adult or every medical condition. (Slip op. at pp. 12–13.)
On the combined reports in this record, the court rejected the proposed categorical requirement of genetic testing or family-history proof. Her reliance on published, peer-reviewed medical studies, combined with physical examination, X-rays, and MRI scans, provided a fully reasoned medical basis for her 49 percent apportionment determination. (Slip op. at pp. 13–14.)
Step 4: Refusal to Decide Unraised Amicus Claims
Amicus curiae California Applicants’ Attorneys Association (CAAA) filed a brief arguing that apportioning disability to genetic factors constitutes unlawful discrimination under California Government Code Section 11135, which prohibits discrimination in state-funded programs based on genetic information or physical disability. (Slip op. at p. 8, fn. 3.) The Court of Appeal declined to address that argument because it had not been raised by the petitioner. It expressed no view on the merits of the discrimination argument. (Slip op. at p. 8, fn. 3.)
Judicial Panel and Majority vs. Concurrence
The decision in City of Jackson v. WCAB (Rice) was unanimous. Acting Presiding Justice Blease authored the opinion, with Associate Justice Hoch and Associate Justice Renner concurring fully. No separate concurring or dissenting opinions were filed.
Exact Appellate Disposition and Scope of Remand
The Court of Appeal issued the following exact disposition: "The Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board’s opinion and decision after reconsideration that was filed January 30, 2015, and that granted reconsideration, is annulled and the matter is remanded to the Board to deny reconsideration. Petitioner is awarded costs." (Slip op. at p. 14.)
Practitioners must note the precise procedural scope of this disposition. The appellate court did not issue an independent rating award or establish a universal blanket 17 percent industrial rating. By annulling the Board's decision and directing the Board to deny reconsideration, the Court of Appeal reinstated the ALJ's original trial decision. That trial decision had rejected the two 17 percent allocations for prior work and personal activities for lack of substantial evidence, while accepting the disputed 49 percent personal-history apportionment. The appellate court did not itself calculate or award an industrial disability percentage. Its directions concerned denial of reconsideration; the rejected allocations were outside the writ issue. Rice, slip op. at 4, 14.
A later WCAB panel applies the disability-causation distinction
In Monti v. MasTec, Inc., No. ADJ19727180 (WCAB July 20, 2026), a panel cited Rice as an example of permissible apportionment supported by disability-causation evidence. It nevertheless rejected the employer’s challenge to a 100% permanent-disability award on a different heart-attack record. The panel emphasized the distinction between a risk factor for the industrial event and a proven cause of the resulting permanent disability. Slip op. at 7–9.
The panel also placed the burden of proving apportionment on the employer and declined to develop the record to cure the employer’s evidentiary shortcomings. It denied reconsideration. Slip op. at 8–10. This is persuasive panel reasoning, not binding precedent on other panels and judges. Its discussion illustrates why merely citing Rice does not supply the missing medical connection in another claim.
Compare the reasoning rather than transplanting the result
The useful comparison is evidentiary. In Rice, the court found that the evaluator’s combined reports connected the identified pathology and personal-history factors to disability, using the history, examination, imaging, and cited studies. In Monti, the panel found the employer had not supplied sufficient contrary evidence showing that the identified nonindustrial risk factors caused the disability. Neither result makes genetics automatically deductible or makes an asymptomatic condition automatically irrelevant.
For another worker, the report must identify the disability being rated, the competing causes, and the explanation supporting their respective contributions. An unexplained numerical allocation and a reasoned medical opinion are not interchangeable merely because they invoke the same earlier case.
Key Takeaways for California Workers' Compensation Practice
The decision in City of Jackson v. WCAB (Rice) establishes vital evidentiary guidelines for evaluating medical-legal reports in California workers' compensation claims:
- Statutory Exclusions First: Verify whether the claimed injury or illness is covered by a section expressly enumerated in §4663(e) before applying the general apportionment rules.
- Causation of Disability Governs: Apportionment under Labor Code Section 4663 must focus on the causes of physical impairment and functional restrictions, not the mechanism of the work event.
- Read the Studies in Context: The court accepted this evaluator’s combined medical explanation without treating genetic testing or family history as categorical prerequisites. That does not relieve an evaluator of supporting an individual disability-causation opinion.
- Detailed Causal Reasoning Required: A QME must explain "how and why" an underlying condition causes present disability. Unsubstantiated allocations will be rejected by the trial judge, as occurred with the two 17 percent allocations in Rice.
- Risk Factors Are Not Causation: The persuasive reasoning in Monti explains why defendants cannot reduce permanent disability awards by pointing to genetic risk factors or lifestyle histories that merely made the worker susceptible to an industrial injury without directly causing present functional impairment.
For additional analysis on evaluating QME reports and medical-legal evidence, read our reader-focused guide on Genetic Apportionment in a QME Report. For further legal assistance, visit our workers' compensation practice page.
Review the reasoning behind your permanent-disability apportionment
Mishra X Trial Lawyers can review the documents and legal issues described here. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.