Lira: A Single Cumulative Injury Required a Corrected Employer Award

When repetitive work damages your health over years, a change of employer can turn a benefits claim into an argument about who must pay. Your work and medical history still need to be considered as a whole. At the same time, the legal injury date and the employer named in the award must be supported by that history.
Two decisions in Lira v. Cottage Health System, Nos. ADJ9198656, ADJ9192994, show how those questions fit together. On January 6, 2025, the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board found one cumulative injury and returned the case for findings about the legal injury date and employer-liability period. On July 7, 2025, it corrected the employer named in the resulting award and rejected attempts to relitigate the settled injury finding or raise a new limitations defense.
The medical history supported one continuing injury
Jeanette Lira worked as a phlebotomist for Sansum Santa Barbara Medical and later Cottage Health System. Her claims were pleaded as two cumulative-injury periods. The trial findings separately described injuries involving her upper extremities, neck, gastrointestinal system and complex regional pain syndrome, with permanent and total disability in each case.
The Board examined the medical history rather than accepting the two pleaded periods as the answer. Agreed Medical Evaluator Dr. Chester Hasday repeatedly described one overarching cumulative injury. He explained that her upper-extremity symptoms continued after she returned to work and that her conditions worsened over time. Her essential job duties remained the same, and treatment continued between the two pleaded periods.
The medical-evidence discussion in Lira relied on those connected facts. It also applied Power v. Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board, 179 Cal.App.3d 775, 782 (1986), concerning the weight ordinarily given to an agreed evaluator’s opinion unless there is good reason to find it unpersuasive.
The parties’ competing arguments brought two earlier decisions into focus. In Western Growers Insurance Co. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (Austin), 16 Cal.App.4th 227, 234–237 (1993), continued treatment linked periods of temporary disability. Lira applied that reasoning and distinguished the separate traumatic events discussed in Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeals Board (Coltharp), 35 Cal.App.3d 329 (1973).
The comparison in Lira required attention to the events, medical history and medical testimony. A change of employer, a return to work or two claim numbers needed to be evaluated with that evidence. Here, the repeated medical explanation and continuing treatment supported one injury from March 19, 2001 through January 3, 2011.
The findings and benefit calculations had to match that injury
The trial judge explained that only one joint award had been intended. But the written findings described two injuries and 100 percent disability arising from each. The Board required the formal findings and award to conform to the proof. It rescinded the October 2024 decision and substituted joint findings describing the single cumulative injury.
The benefit discussion in Lira also addressed the worker’s earning capacity. The employer challenged the $800 weekly earnings figure because her actual work had been part time or sporadic. The Board accepted the judge’s credibility assessment and earning-capacity calculation.
The January findings set temporary disability at $533.33 per week for April 26, 2011 through April 23, 2013, less credit for sums already paid and attorney fees. The permanent-total-disability benefit began April 24, 2013. The substituted findings in Lira identified 100 percent permanent disability, no legal basis for apportionment and a continuing need for treatment.
Those were the rates and periods in this case. For a worker whose hours changed because of injury, payroll, restrictions and evidence of earning capacity deserve separate review. Current Labor Code section 4453(c)(4) addresses earning capacity when employment is under 30 hours a week or the preceding calculation methods cannot reasonably and fairly be applied.
The legal injury date set a different liability window
Finding one continuous injury did not complete the allocation of responsibility. The January decision returned the case for findings under section 5412 and section 5500.5. The first concerns when disability and actual or constructive knowledge of its work connection came together. The second generally limits employer liability to the year before that date or the last injurious exposure, whichever occurred first.
On remand, the judge found January 6, 2007 to be the legal injury date and January 6, 2006 through January 6, 2007 to be the liability period. That endpoint preceded the end of the overall exposure period in 2011. The employer-liability discussion in the July Lira decision identified Sansum as the only employer during the controlling period.
The adopted report and opinion on decision connected the injury date to disability and knowledge shown by the treatment history and the agreed evaluator’s summary. They contain differing January 6 and January 26 recitals for the surgery. The operative date finding was January 6, 2007; anyone relying on the precise surgical chronology should check the underlying records rather than silently reconcile those recitals.
The later decision corrected the employer named in the award
The April 9, 2025 award nevertheless named Cottage Health as liable. Cottage challenged that designation because the findings placed the liability period during Lira’s employment with Sansum. The judge acknowledged the clerical error and recommended correction.
The July order in Lira amended the award to run against Sansum Santa Barbara Medical, insured by Zurich American Insurance Company. The Board granted Cottage’s petition, denied Zurich’s petition and otherwise affirmed the April decision. The employer correction followed the established liability window; it was not a division of one award into two separate disability recoveries.
The single-injury finding had become final
In July, Zurich argued that Lira had sustained more than one injury. Its January petition had urged the opposite conclusion: A single cumulative injury and a single award. The Board explained that its January decision had already resolved the nature and number of injuries. No party had timely sought reconsideration or appellate review of that determination.
Applying Aldi v. Carr, McClellan, Ingersoll, Thompson & Horn, 71 Cal.Comp.Cases 783, 784, footnote 2 (WCAB en banc 2006), the finality analysis in Lira treated the resolved injury issue as final even though further proceedings had been needed on other matters. The return to the trial judge for date and liability findings did not restart review of the injury question already decided.
For a worker reviewing an order that sends a case back for further proceedings, identify both what was finally decided and what remains for decision. Give counsel the order promptly. Waiting for every remaining issue to be resolved can leave an earlier adverse finding beyond timely challenge.
The limitations defense had not been preserved
Zurich also raised a statute-of-limitations defense for the first time in the later reconsideration proceedings. The Board rejected it as untimely. Under section 5409, failure to present that affirmative defense before submission of the case for decision is sufficient waiver.
The limitations discussion in Lira gave an additional reason: Lira had continued receiving authorized treatment and indemnity through 2013, when she filed the applications. The Board referred to section 5405(b) and (c), which address the expiration of periods covered by disability payments and the last furnishing of medical benefits. An old exposure date alone did not establish the defense on this record.
Build one history with separate legal questions
For a claim involving years of repetitive work and more than one employer, preserve the actual duties, ownership or employment changes, treatment, restrictions and benefit history. Ask the medical evaluator to explain whether continuing symptoms and later disability reflect the same injury or a distinct injury supported by the evidence.
Then map the legal injury date and last injurious exposure separately, identify employers during the resulting liability period and compare those findings with the name on the award. Keep the issues submitted at trial, reconsideration petitions and resulting orders with that timeline. Lira shows why medical continuity, employer responsibility and preservation of challenges require separate attention.
Our cumulative-injury timeline guide explains the two-date comparison in more detail. Here, the later Lira decision completed the employer correction while enforcing the finality of the earlier injury finding. Bring both the medical record and the sequence of orders so advice can address the ruling that actually governs your claim.
Review the work history and the orders governing your claim
Bring the medical reports, work and benefit history, trial issues, petitions and all resulting orders. We can review the injury finding, employer-liability period and any challenge requiring prompt action. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.