Fontenette: Medical Testimony Made Two Injury Benefit Periods Run Together

A physician and patient reviewing spinal images on a laptop in a medical office.

Two industrial injuries did not produce two consecutive years of salary-continuation benefits when the medical evidence showed that both injuries caused the same period of disability. In Fontenette v. Los Angeles Unified School District, Nos. ADJ11286876 and ADJ11286877 (WCAB Jan. 13, 2026), the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board replaced an award recognizing separate benefit periods with findings that the periods completely overlapped. The decisive evidence was the doctors’ explanation of the worker’s restrictions before her later neck surgery—not simply the existence of two injury dates.

The three-commissioner WCAB panel applied section 4850 and Foster to the overlapping disability shown by this record. Its complete official opinion includes the substituted findings at pages 11–12.

Why the employer and worker read the medical history differently

A school police deputy chief sustained a December 2017 neck injury and a January 2018 injury involving her low back. She stopped working on July 18, 2018, and received a year of Labor Code section 4850 benefits. These benefits replace salary for eligible public safety employees during a qualifying industrial disability. She underwent cervical spine surgery on March 18, 2019. The dispute was whether that surgery began a separate period of salary continuation or occurred during disability already attributable to both injuries. Fontenette, pages 1–2, 6–7.

The trial judge treated the earlier absence as attributable to the back injury and awarded another section 4850 period beginning with the neck surgery. The worker emphasized treating reports that described light-duty restrictions as being for back pain. The employer argued that those descriptions did not capture the full medical picture: The neck and back conditions were disabling at the same time. The parties did not dispute disability following the neck surgery; they disputed what caused the inability to work before it. Fontenette, page 6.

The employer petitioned for reconsideration. The trial judge recommended denying that petition, but the WCAB granted reconsideration so it could study the legal and factual issues and later issued this Decision After Reconsideration. The Board then rescinded the October 2021 findings and award and substituted its own findings. Fontenette, pages 1–2, 10–12.

The statutory question concerns overlapping disability, not just separate injuries

The Board explained the relationship between two limits. Section 4850 provides qualifying salary continuation for up to one year. For the injuries involved here, section 4656(c)(2) limits aggregate disability payments for a single injury to 104 compensable weeks within five years of injury. Section 4850 salary-continuation payments count toward that aggregate limit. Fontenette, page 7.

The panel applied the overlapping-disability reasoning discussed in Foster v. Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board, 161 Cal.App.4th 1505 (2008). Foster directly analyzed the earlier section 4656(c)(1); the Board expressly extended its overlapping-disability analysis to section 4656(c)(2), which governed these post-2008 injuries. Separate injury claims do not pause one another’s benefit limits while they cause concurrent disability. The evidence must establish whether the resulting periods are independent, staggered or overlapping. That is why counting two accidents, diagnoses or claim numbers did not answer this dispute. Fontenette, pages 7–8.

The doctors’ testimony explained what the short work-status reports left unclear

The early record already contained evidence of both conditions. The treating physician evaluated neck complaints in June 2018, discussed surgery and imposed light duty. He evaluated the low back shortly afterward. By July, the diagnoses included both cervical myelopathy and sciatica, although several reports described the restrictions as being for back pain. Fontenette, pages 2–4, 9.

The later depositions supplied the connection that the report labels alone did not. The agreed medical evaluator testified that neck restrictions would have operated simultaneously with the low-back restrictions and that inability to perform light duty would have resulted from both injuries. The treating physician agreed that the worker had been a neck-surgery candidate from his initial examination and that the earlier restrictions were applicable to both conditions. He also said the July 2018 light-duty restrictions were necessary because of both diagnoses. Fontenette, pages 9–10.

The Board therefore did not use the surgery date as the first possible date of neck-related disability. It read the reports together with the explanatory testimony and found that both injuries caused temporary total disability beginning July 18, 2018. The later operation did not establish an independent new benefit period on this record.

What the substituted award actually provided

The Board rescinded the earlier findings and award and substituted findings recognizing one year of section 4850 benefits beginning July 18, 2018. That year of salary continuation used the first 52 compensable weeks of section 4656(c)(2)’s 104-week aggregate. The discussion therefore described no more than 52 additional weeks of temporary total disability, ending sooner if the worker became permanent and stationary. Finding of Fact No. 4 uses “up to 104 weeks” to state the aggregate ceiling; it does not add 104 weeks after the section 4850 year. Fontenette, pages 10–12.

The “Accordingly” paragraph on page 10 says the overlapping benefit period began July 18, 2019. That date is an apparent drafting error: The surrounding analysis and substituted Findings of Fact Nos. 3 and 4 identify July 18, 2018 as the start date. The substituted findings control the article’s description of the award. Fontenette, pages 10–12.

The parties had also submitted proposed stipulated awards resolving the underlying claims apart from this benefit-period dispute. The Board left benefit adjustment to them, reserved the trial judge’s jurisdiction over further disputes, and allowed review of the proposed settlements and any supplemental agreement after the matter returned to the trial level. It did not calculate a final overpayment or order a specified reimbursement. Fontenette, page 11.

How to evaluate a different two-injury record

Compare the dates when each condition actually prevented the work, not merely the dates of diagnosis or surgery. A report discussing the back may need to be read beside an earlier neck report, a job restriction and testimony explaining whether the limitations operated together. A later procedure is important evidence, but its date does not by itself establish when the associated disability began.

For a focused review, preserve the work-status reports for the disputed interval, both evaluators’ complete opinions, relevant deposition passages, any modified-work offers and the benefit ledger. The critical question is what each injury contributed during each interval. Our late-payment guide addresses a different question—whether an amount already due was paid on time. The overlap analysis belongs first in the medical and benefit-period record for the workers’ compensation claim.

Review the two-injury benefit record

Bring both medical histories, work restrictions, deposition testimony, benefit ledgers and the actual award. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.