Barlam: A Missing Cumulative-Injury Date Required Review of a Second Supplement

Documents and case folders on a law-office desk.

Managing two work-injury claims can mean separate medical records, vouchers and benefit decisions arriving at different times. A second voucher may raise hopes of another cash supplement. If the application is denied because the injury is described as older, the dates supporting that decision deserve careful attention.

In Barlam v. Return-to-Work Supplement Program, No. ADJ11866446 (WCAB May 27, 2025), a panel of the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board required that closer look. The worker had received one $5,000 supplement and sought another for a cumulative injury. The judge had denied the second payment without making the legal injury-date finding needed to apply the eligibility rule. The Board returned the case for that finding.

The second application concerned an earlier exposure period

Alan Barlam had at least two industrial injuries for which insurers issued Supplemental Job Displacement Benefit vouchers. One claim described cumulative trauma from February 15, 2015 through February 23, 2016. He used that voucher to obtain a $5,000 Return-to-Work Supplement Program payment.

He later applied for another $5,000 supplement using a voucher associated with a cumulative-trauma claim covering March 15, 2004 through April 2, 2014. The program denied the second application because it concerned an injury described as earlier than the injury supporting the first payment. The judge upheld the denial in January 2020.

The sequence appeared to favor denying another payment: An earlier injury’s voucher had reached the program later. But the Board’s analysis in Barlam identified a missing step. The record contained no finding fixing that cumulative injury’s date under the statute. The period during which work caused cumulative harm and the legal date of that injury answer different questions.

The retraining voucher and the cash supplement are separate benefits. Labor Code section 139.48 establishes the supplement program and authorizes the Director of Industrial Relations to set eligibility and payment amounts by regulation.

For a worker who already received a supplement, Rule 17302(b) permits another only where the worker receives a voucher for an injury occurring after receipt of every previous supplement. The relevant comparison is between the new injury’s legal date and the earlier supplement’s receipt date. A voucher issued or submitted later does not by itself establish a later injury.

In this case, the Board identified August 23, 2019 as the prior supplement payment date. It needed to determine whether the cumulative injury underlying the new application occurred after that date.

Labor Code section 5412 supplies the cumulative-injury test. The worker must first have suffered disability from the condition and known, or in the exercise of reasonable diligence should have known, that employment caused it. The Barlam panel applied that two-part inquiry, citing State Compensation Insurance Fund v. Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (Rodarte), 119 Cal.App.4th 998 (2004). The disability and work-related knowledge require findings; the exposure-period label cannot replace them.

The 2017 medical records needed to become evidence

A footnote in Barlam made the evidentiary problem concrete. Medical reports in the file dated back to 2017 and indicated that the injuries were sustained during the worker’s usual employment. The Board identified reports by Dr. Steven Brourman and Dr. Amy Wickman. Those reports had not been admitted into evidence.

The Board observed that the legal injury date might be as early as 2017. That was a possibility requiring examination, not a finding that fixed the date. It also was not a finding of an injury after the August 2019 payment. The decision therefore required further proceedings to establish the date before deciding how the second-payment rule applied.

For an injured worker reviewing a similar denial, this distinction matters. A report’s presence in a claims file is different from its admission and evaluation in the proceeding. The evidence needs to address both disability and knowledge of the work connection. A favorable-sounding report, or a later date printed on a voucher, cannot do the work of those findings.

The Board could review the denial

The program argued that section 139.48 allowed review only by the trial-level workers’ compensation judge. The Board’s review analysis in Barlam rejected that reading. Trial judges act under authority delegated by the Board. The statutory scheme also provides reconsideration of their final decisions and subsequent judicial review. The Board considered Barlam’s petition rather than treating the trial judge’s ruling as the final available review.

Barlam also argued that he had not been told about Rule 17302(b) in the eligibility notices. The panel rejected that due-process argument: His lack of knowledge of the governing rule did not excuse compliance merely because he represented himself. The reason the case returned for further proceedings was the missing injury-date finding. A worker contesting a denial should identify the actual factual or legal error and have the notice, service information and filing requirements reviewed promptly.

A challenge to the rule followed a separate route

A dispute about the date used in an eligibility decision differs from a challenge to the regulation itself. The Barlam opinion explained that the supplement program’s rulemaking was governed by the Administrative Procedure Act. Government Code section 11350 provides a superior-court action seeking a declaration about a regulation’s validity. The Board pointed to that route for the validity challenge while returning the unresolved injury-date issue to the workers’ compensation judge.

That separation helps focus the next step. If the denial uses the wrong injury date, the medical evidence and the statutory disability-and-knowledge analysis matter. If the objection is that the regulation is unlawful, the legal challenge concerns a different route and remedy.

The next decision depended on the missing finding

The Board’s disposition in Barlam set aside the January 2020 findings and returned the matter to the trial level. The judge needed to establish the cumulative-injury date and then apply the eligibility rule to that date and the prior payment. The worker obtained further consideration of his claim; another $5,000 payment depended on what the completed record established.

For a similar claim, organize each voucher with the injury findings or settlement identifying its claim. Keep the earlier supplement’s decision and actual payment records, the new denial and service information, and the medical reports bearing on disability and work-related knowledge. Identify which reports were admitted and whether the judge made a section 5412 finding. Put the exposure period, proposed legal injury date, voucher dates and supplement-receipt dates in separate columns.

Seek help promptly with an appeal. Rule 17309 states a 20-day period from service of the Director’s decision for an appeal at a WCAB district office. Have the actual notice, service method, filing requirements and applicable timing rules reviewed together. Contacting the firm does not file that appeal.

Our analysis of Manser addresses continuing effects from an established older specific injury. Barlam turns on a different problem: The cumulative injury’s legal date had not been established. Our cumulative-injury date guide explains the disability-and-knowledge evidence, while our return-to-work supplement guide addresses the separate application. We can review the denial and the underlying records to identify which issue needs to be resolved.

Review a second-supplement denial and the injury-date evidence

Bring both vouchers, the earlier supplement payment records, the new denial and medical reports addressing disability and work-related knowledge. We can examine the legal injury-date finding and the basis for denying another supplement. Call (949) 343-9735 or email office@mishrax.com.